Favourite Albums-Manic Street Preachers-The Holy Bible.

The Holy bible The manic Street Preachers, the album that convinced me that they were for real, I love this album and even now 17 years after its 1994 release i go back to it often its noise intensity and lyrics keep drawing me back and remind me of punks heyday in 76-78.

God when i saw faster on TOTP it was amazing james in his balaclava it was thrillingly subversive for a thursday teatime,I know the clash never played TOTP but think what they could have done!

Yes

For sale? dumb cunt’s same dumb questions
Oh virgins? listen, all virgins are liars honey
And I don’t know what I’m scared of or what I even enjoy
Dulling, get money, but nothing turns out like you want it to

And in these plagued streets of pity you can buy anything
For anyone can conceive a God on video
He’s a boy, you want a girl so tear off his cock
Tie his hair in bunches, fuck him, call him Rita if you want

I eat and I dress and I wash and I still can say thank you
Puking – shaking – sinking I still stand for old ladies
Can’t shout, can’t scream, hurt myself to get pain out

I ‘T’ them, 24:7, all year long
Purgatory’s circle, drowning here, someone will always say yes
Funny place for the social, for the insects to start caring
Just an ambulance at the bottom of a cliff

In these plagued streets of pity you can by anything
For anyone can conceive a God on video
He’s a boy, you want a girl so tear off his cock
Tie his hair in bunches, fuck him, call him Rita if you want, if you want

I eat and I dress and I wash and I can still say thank you
Puking – shaking – sinking I still stand for old ladies
Can’t shout, can’t scream, I hurt myself to get pain out

Power produces desire, the weak have none
There’s no lust in this coma even for a fifty
Solitude, solitude, the 11th commandment

The only certain thing that is left about me
There is no part of my body that has not been used
Pity or pain, to show displeasure’s shame
Everyone I’ve loved or hated always seems to leave

And in these plagued streets of pity you can buy anything
For anyone can conceive a God on video
He’s a boy, you want a girl so tear off his cock
Tie his hair in bunches, fuck him, call him Rita if you want, if you want

Power produces desire, the weak have none
There’s no lust in this coma even for a fifty
Solitude, solitude, the 11th commandment

Don’t hurt, just obey, lie down, do as they say
May as well be heaven this hell, smells the same
These sunless afternoons I can’t find myself

Two dollars you rub her tits. Three dollars you rub her ass. Five dollars you can play with her pussy, or you can lick her tits. Choice is yours.

A really dark album great music but Richeys lyrics are just something else,he is obviously in a dark place when he is writing these.Great use of samples also on the album especially on the intense humming of evil which uses a commentary of the nazi war trials in Nuremberg. Try listening to this album on your headphones there’s a lot going on in there.

Cant really choose a favourite track off the album but yes is a great opener,its well documented that the manics Richey Edwards vanished after the release of this album and the rest of the group went on to have great success,even ending up on the BBC strictly come dancing to great cries of youve sold out! we all sell out our young ideals,ive kept some of mine but im a lot different then the punk 16-year-old I was!

I saw the manics in 1992 I think at the queens hall in Bradford, the first time they played there were about 4 of us there the 2nd time it was packed out!

The new album is a must buy postcards from a young man, but for sheer intensity the holy bible is for me! If you have not heard The Holy Bible you need to its a genuine masterpiece.

Download is The Manic Street Preachers live in Leeds 2010 enjoy!

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=MDSRC0C4

So damm easy to cave in man kills everything.

One Comment on “Favourite Albums-Manic Street Preachers-The Holy Bible.”

  1. Jim Condon says:

    It’s a great album from a band I can really take or leave. Painful to listen to at times but they mean it, man!


Leave a Reply

